Recipe: Paleo Kale Shakshouka

I recently completed a challenge at my gym which followed a meal plan similar to Whole-30, so mostly paleo. I learned a lot during the challenge about nutrition, my body’s reaction to certain foods, and most importantly, how to create tasty meals on the fly using whatever I have in my kitchen.

Although I’m definitely back in the routine of eating cookie dough, ice cream, and cheese now and again- I’ve continued to follow a similar paleo-ish diet, especially during the week. I hope this blog will be a nice way to share some of the recipes I’ve loved, tweaked, or concocted on my own.

FullSizeRender 2.jpg

Paleo Kale Shakshouka

Ingredients
1 chopped shallot
1 tbsp olive oil
1 bunch of kale, stems removed, chopped
½ cup marinara sauce (make sure the marinara is clean if paleo)
2 eggs
Salt & pepper
Crushed red pepper
Optional: Avocado, green onions

Directions

  1. Heat the olive oil in a pan for a minute or two and then add the chopped shallots. Cook the shallots until they are soft and fragrant, about 2 minutes.
  2. Add the chopped kale and sauté for a few minutes until wilted.
  3. Add the marina sauce, mix it with the kale and shallots, and heat until it’s bubbling.
  4. Make two holes in the mix with a spoon and crack the eggs in the holes. Sprinkle some salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper to taste and cover the pan with a lid.
  5. Cook on low until the egg white is opaque and there is a thin layer over the yolk, about 4 minutes. If you don’t like runny eggs, cook even longer.
  6. Serve with ½ an avocado and sliced green onions.
 
2
Kudos
 
2
Kudos

Now read this

7 Things Mark Watney and I Have In Common Right Now

I’m currently reading the book The Martian by Andy Weir (hey again, book club!), better known for its recent release as a movie starring Matt Damon. I thought I would hate this book because it isn’t about high school drama or written by... Continue →